Gender rules.

Our society believes in a gender binary. This means we strictly have 2 genders, male and female. Have you ever considered those who bend that rule? Think about the arguments over gender-neutral pronouns, do we need them? (I disagree with the binary and do think and hope that someday our language will continue to evolve and gender-neutral pronouns will surface). Those who are genderqueer, meaning they do not identify as male nor female, make up for more of our population than you might think.

I personally do not believe in/agree with such strict gender rules. A human is a human and shouldn’t be labelled by their anatomy. I’m friends with a handful of people that bend gender rules and they are some of the most sincere individuals I’ve been blessed with. I’m very opinionated when it comes to human rights. Rights as individuals, gay rights, etc., I stand up for them all. It frustrates me that way too often in my life I am faced with people with differing opinions who look down upon those who don’t fit the binary. For me, I don’t care if you have a face full of makeup and heels on, if you ask me to use masculine pronouns for you, I will.

2 thoughts on “Gender rules.

Leave a Reply

