#OneWord

picture0108170926_1

I’d not heard of this hashtag until my English teacher, whom is more social media-savvy than one might guess, brought to our attention. She instructed us to pick one word, one goal, to focus on in the new year of 2017. Once determining our goal, as an act of creative stress relief, we painted our word on rocks. I realize it may be hard to see in my photo of mediocre quality but  my rock, pictured above, features the word:

Recovery.

Now as per my assignment, I’ll explain why I chose this word.

A new year is all fun and games until you mess up and you just can’t wait for your issues to blow over. They do blow over with time, usually. Sometimes the effects of your mistakes are everlasting though. The new year has started and you formulate a  hefty list of things you’re going to do in the next 1 year, 12 months, 52 weeks, 365 days, 8,760 hours, 525,600 minutes, and God know how many seconds.  How often though, do we consider the things we will not do?

That’s what the idea of recovery has forced me to do. To think about the things I will not do.

I won’t let peers influence me so much, that is unless the outcome is positive.
I won’t be so scared to ask for a friend when I need it.
I won’t let my anxiety call the shots…because I always have..and it never ends well for anyone.

It’s harder than I thought it would be to describe this.

Before I begin to bore you, let’s just say 2016 didn’t end well. And the new year, well, didn’t begin well. But I have well over 300 days left to recover from all the terrible things I did, said, and experienced in 2016. I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to do this yet, with help for sure. From my best friend, my family. Will I be 100% successful? Probably not. Then again, who ever is?

I wish everyone luck in their new year. I hope you conquer demons and move mountains, just as you are capable, trust me.

 

2 thoughts on “#OneWord

Leave a Reply

